How has being a writer changed my experience as a reader?

http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html

There is a simple answer to that: No matter how much editing a person does, something always seems to be missed. I learned that with my first novel, Templar: Order and Chaos. I am lucky to have a relative with an English Degree and she is helping me to fix that for the first novel. As I have little funds to hire an editor, i still have to go it solo for now. I love the novels that have come out because of Amazon and I realize now that I am far from the only writer that has a spelling problem. I don’t hold it against the authors, especially the ones that have little money to hire an editor.

Even with an editor, on more professional novels I can still catch spelling mistakes and little grammar mistakes. I see it everyday at highly visible sights like CNN. I also see the people make comments belittling the editors because of the mistakes that were missed. It upsets me that people go out of their way to point that out; it doesn’t matter how many pairs of eyes sees it, little mistakes can be missed on the passes. You could have an army of editors and something could still be missed.

In the end I just smile when I see spelling mistakes and grammar issues. I don’t hold it against anyone.

insecure-writers-support-group-badge
http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html
12 thoughts on “How has being a writer changed my experience as a reader?

  1. It unnerves me too when others who should be reading for joy pick out the grammatical flaws. We try our best, but the print world is very unforgiving. Once it’s out, it’s out there for the world to see. Great post! I’m glad you chuckle when you stumble upon an error or two. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. Mistakes happen and even the best editors miss them. I’m amazed at how my brain thinks the word YOU and my fingers write HIM. Why! LOL. Great post, Kenneth. There’s enough negativity in the world without creating more over unimportant issues.

    Like

  3. Hi,
    I am a critical reader. I read for enjoyment also and during those periods of enjoyment I do see mistakes that I overlook and keep on reading. However there are times when a book is really flawed and I don’t read any further. Especially, when a character drops in that was never developed.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Pat

    Like

  4. Sometimes proofreading ones own work after leaving it to rest for a while can do wonders, especially with trusty dictionary at the ready. And then there are the days when reading that rested story can lead to exclamations of “Who wrote this? Oh, I did…”

    Like

  5. Welcome to the IWSG, Kenneth! You’re absolutely right that no matter how much editing goes into a book, there will still be errors. It happens. Even after hiring an editor. No one can catch them all. And no book is perfect. I’m glad you smile when you spot an error. 🙂

    Like

  6. Small grammar and typos don’t bother me. I think the bigger issue (and the more valuable use of an editor) is finding big errors and inconsistencies in the book. My pet peeve is when a character/paragraph/scene/chapter/one-third-of-the-book is extraneous and doesn’t serve anything to the story. That’s what an editor should be catching and helping you correct.

    IWSG February

    Like

  7. I have seen mistakes in books published by big publishers and they have had lots of editors working on their books. I forgive them more in books that are self-published or small presses. But many people are very critical of every small thing. Glad you’re part of IWSG.

    Like

  8. Yes, none of us are immune to spelling and/or grammatical errors, no matter how closely edited our work is. I had one sentence in my WIP that had one incorrect word that just so happened to turn my characters into cannibals—and neither I, nor my critique partners or beta readers picked up on it. I had a good long laugh when I finally did spot that mistake, though. 🙂

    Like

  9. I’ve learned that even at traditional publishing houses, with some of the best editorial staff in the business, errors can slip through. Often it’s because those final pass pages get corrections and whoever enters the corrections could enter them incorrectly. Basically, we could probably go over the same manuscript 1,000 times and STILL find mistakes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

